Health risks related to having an office job. How do you deal with them? Help!!
Thread poster: Andrea Diaz
Andrea Diaz
Andrea Diaz
Mexico
Local time: 00:56
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 11, 2014

Hello, I am somewhat new to the profession, and I want to ask some questions to some of the more experienced translators.

My body doesn't respond well to being in front of my laptop every day. Lately I've had some fairly annoying arm cramps. My leg joints ache if I'm sitting in the same position for too long, and my lower back hurts.
I used to be very active in college. I went to the gym 2-3 times per week, and I enjoyed moving around. This career is a big change from my for
... See more
Hello, I am somewhat new to the profession, and I want to ask some questions to some of the more experienced translators.

My body doesn't respond well to being in front of my laptop every day. Lately I've had some fairly annoying arm cramps. My leg joints ache if I'm sitting in the same position for too long, and my lower back hurts.
I used to be very active in college. I went to the gym 2-3 times per week, and I enjoyed moving around. This career is a big change from my former lifestyle, and my body is not happy.

I try to start my morning with some stretching excercises, and move around the house once in a while. However, when I have a rush project and pull all-nighters, my body takes a heavy toll. I don't know how to describe it, but my arms just don't feel like working anymore. This somewhat worries me, because I'm still young (26), and I don't want to develop serious health problems in the future.

What I want to ask is, how do you deal with this? Do you have some tricks? Excellent stretching techniques? I wish I could go to the gym often like I used to, but when I have a rush project, I don't even leave my house much. Or did you just get used to it and I have to "hacer callo y aguantarme"?
Collapse

Kirsten Bodart
Kirsten Bodart  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:56