Switch from Windows to Mac
Thread poster: Willemina Hagenauw
Willemina Hagenauw
Willemina Hagenauw
Local time: 22:04
English to Dutch
+ ...
Sep 7, 2017

Hi, I am about to buy a new laptop with all the associated stuff. I always worked with windows but am considering taking a Mac. Has anybody got experience to share with switching. Is a Mac easier/more difficult to use, does software like Trados work on it? I am not very technical so any pointers would be great.

CafeTran Training (X)
CafeTran Training (X)
Netherlands
Local time: 23:04
Switched years ago Sep 7, 2017

Willemina Hagenauw wrote:

Hi, I am about to buy a new laptop with all the associated stuff. I always worked with windows but am considering taking a Mac. Has anybody got experience to share with switching. Is a Mac easier/more difficult to use, does software like Trados work on it? I am not very technical so any pointers would be great.

It takes some time to get used, when switching, but there are some good books about this task (like: https://lees.nl/boek/van-pc-naar-mac-overstappen-zonder-valkuilen-druk/ ). I've never regretted the migration.

You can use Trados (via Parallels Desktop or VMware Fusion) but I'd advise you to use a Trados-compatible tool like CafeTran (www.cafetran.com). CafeTran works directly on top of the operating system of the Mac and is beautifully integrated. Reduce complexity and avoid Windows!

Tasks that you can't do in CafeTran (yet*)):

• Use tracked changes in Studio projects, you can, however, work via Studio's comments.
  • Open termbases: you'll need to ask someone to export them for you.

All other tasks in Trados are perfectly supported in CafeTran!

*) We CafeTran fans hope that both tasks will be added in the near future .

[Edited at 2017-09-07 12:45 GMT]

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Switching Sep 7, 2017

The main thing about the MacOS is that **you don't need a computer guy**.