How can I find a mentor? (English-Italian)
Thread poster: SimoC
SimoC
SimoC
Local time: 21:58
English to Italian
+ ...
Feb 6, 2003

Dear Translators,

I\'m not sure if I\'m doing well to post this

request to you, so I apologize if I have got it wrong. I\'m just at the beginning of my carreer as a translator; I completed a Degree in Foreign Language and Literature two years ago and a Diploma in Interpreting and Translator skills last June, but I realized I need to improve the quality of my translations. There are a lot of good translators, but unfortunately it\'s not hard to find many bad quali
... See more
Dear Translators,

I\'m not sure if I\'m doing well to post this

request to you, so I apologize if I have got it wrong. I\'m just at the beginning of my carreer as a translator; I completed a Degree in Foreign Language and Literature two years ago and a Diploma in Interpreting and Translator skills last June, but I realized I need to improve the quality of my translations. There are a lot of good translators, but unfortunately it\'s not hard to find many bad quality translators around too. I would like to avoid that my translations are poor quality. That\'s why I\'m looking for a mentor who is willing to share their experience with me. Many agencies prefer not contact me because I have no experience, but I prefer not to waste my time and training, I\'m eager to learn, I just hope someone will give me this opportunity.

I would be very grateful if you could utilize my skills in any way.

My language combination is: ENGLISH-ITALIAN

Thank You,

Simona

Collapse

Marc P (X)
Marc P (X)  Identity Verified
German to English
+ ...
ITI Feb 6, 2003

The ITI has a mentoring scheme.

Marc

Nathalie M. Girard, ALHC (X)
Nathalie M. Girard, ALHC (X)  Identity Verified
English to French
+ ...
ATA - American Translators Association Feb 6, 2003

The ATA also has a mentoring program. You can get some information here:

http://www.atanet.org/Mentor/

Regards,

Nathalie