Thread poster: apancake
apancake
apancake
United States
Local time: 05:26
French to English
+ ...
Nov 21, 2002

I am a freelancer who\'s been out of the business while I went to grad school (3 years), and am at a loss about \"moderate rates\" in my language pair. Things seem to have taken quite a dip in the interim. Can anyone clue me in on what is average in today\'s market?

Thanks

Gayle Wallimann
Gayle Wallimann  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:26
Member (2004)
French to English
+ ...
Price range for French to English Nov 21, 2002

Welcome to ProZ, Amy. At least, I suppose you are new to the site if you haven\'t been translating during grad school. I can only tell you what the average rate comes out to here on ProZ, from some 680 people who have responded. I don\'t know if they live in the US, however, and I doubt it. The lowest per word is $.08 and the highest is $.20 for the French to English pair. Average per source word is $.11, based on the most frequent answer.

Now, you will probably need some US resid
... See more
Welcome to ProZ, Amy. At least, I suppose you are new to the site if you haven\'t been translating during grad school. I can only tell you what the average rate comes out to here on ProZ, from some 680 people who have responded. I don\'t know if they live in the US, however, and I doubt it. The lowest per word is $.08 and the highest is $.20 for the French to English pair. Average per source word is $.11, based on the most frequent answer.

Now, you will probably need some US residents answering, I haven\'t lived ther in years, but I do work for some US companies that pay me $.10 per source word. Maybe I\'m being taken advantage of, I really don\'t know!

Happy translating.

Gayle
Collapse

lingoage --
lingoage --
Local time: 14:56
Hindi to English
+ ...
Isn't it to high Nov 21, 2002

Hi,