How to find freelance projects ??
Thread poster: Ksenia17
Ksenia17
Ksenia17
English to Russian
Oct 17, 2002

Could anybody give some useful advise on how to find freelance jobs in UK.

I work as an experienced in-house translator based in London, but would be very interested to undertake freelancing jobs too.

Well, I have contacted some agencies, replied to ads.... registered with some agencies on the internet, but no success so far...

May be I am doing something wrong???

Thank you replies in advance,

Ksenia

Mary Worby
Mary Worby  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 03:39
German to English
+ ...
Be patient, and available! Oct 17, 2002

You say you are already working as an in-house translator. This probably makes it very difficult for potential customers to contact you (especially if you\'re working for a translation agency and their competition )

The easiest way to get work through agencies is to be available. If you are only able to squeeze in some freelance work around other commitments, and this is evident from the details you provide, then agencies may no
... See more
You say you are already working as an in-house translator. This probably makes it very difficult for potential customers to contact you (especially if you\'re working for a translation agency and their competition )

The easiest way to get work through agencies is to be available. If you are only able to squeeze in some freelance work around other commitments, and this is evident from the details you provide, then agencies may not be keen to contact you.

Are you working full or part time and is your intention to go freelance completely, or just keep it as a bit on the side, as it were?

HTH

Mary
Collapse

Sven Petersson
Sven Petersson  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 04:39
English to Swedish
+ ...
KudoZ & Perception Oct 18, 2002

I am offered more translation jobs than I can handle.

You are not offered enough, perhaps none.

Why?