How best to approach new clients directly?
Thread poster: AAAmedical
AAAmedical
AAAmedical  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 20:26
English to Dutch
+ ...
Jul 25, 2002

Hello,

I am a freelance translator since several years and I mainly work for translation agencies. I would like to have a more direct contact with my clients but this seems to be rather difficult.

I am actually not living in the country were my \'native language\' (Dutch) is spoken. Could this be a reason why I find it difficult to approach direct clients.

How do you contact direct clients. Just sending out CV\'s seems rather weird t
... See more
Hello,

I am a freelance translator since several years and I mainly work for translation agencies. I would like to have a more direct contact with my clients but this seems to be rather difficult.

I am actually not living in the country were my \'native language\' (Dutch) is spoken. Could this be a reason why I find it difficult to approach direct clients.

How do you contact direct clients. Just sending out CV\'s seems rather weird to me and I think I\'ll just be wasting my time.

Could anybody give me some advice?
Collapse

Nikki Scott-Despaigne
Nikki Scott-Despaigne  Identity Verified
Local time: 20:26
French to English
Speaking from experience Jul 25, 2002

I must do about one agency job a month and I work full-time. More than 90% of my work is direct-client.

When I started out, my client base was 50-50 agent/direct client. I am not sure quite how to read your question. Do you mean that you would like to have more contact with clients you work for via the agencies or that you woudl like to pahse out the agencies and move over to direct client work? Or both?

In the first case, when you work with an agent, th
... See more
I must do about one agency job a month and I work full-time. More than 90% of my work is direct-client.