Virginia Jampen
Virginia Jampen
Poland
Local time: 11:34
English to German
+ ...
Apr 11, 2018

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to all this and I am probably asking a question you all already heard a 1000 times...

Do I get into troubles when I use a scientific text I wrote myself (it was a research mandate, where I was the head researcher) as a source text for a sample in my portfolio? Do I have to ask the organisation who entrusted me with the mandate for permission?

And is it ok to use Wikipedia texts as source texts for samples?

Thank y
... See more
Hello everyone,

I am quite new to all this and I am probably asking a question you all already heard a 1000 times...

Do I get into troubles when I use a scientific text I wrote myself (it was a research mandate, where I was the head researcher) as a source text for a sample in my portfolio? Do I have to ask the organisation who entrusted me with the mandate for permission?

And is it ok to use Wikipedia texts as source texts for samples?

Thank you for your help.

Kind regards,
Virginia
Collapse

Natalia Chetvernina (X)
Natalia Chetvernina (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:34
Russian to English
+ ...
Great question May 19, 2018

I'm a newbie myself and just want to say this is a great question - I hope someone provides some feedback on sample translations for beginners in general.

[Edited at 2018-05-19 19:29 GMT]

Santiago Bergamini
Santiago Bergamini
Argentina
Local time: 07:34
English to Spanish
+ ...
Copyright issues Jun 1, 2018

Hi, there! I'm also new and I've been doing a lot of research. I suggest looking for "creative commons content". CCC is free content you can perfectly use for your portfolio. Wikipedia content is CCC, so use it! You can also translate Wikipedia content within that platform.