Translation agency asking for a copy of ID - is this ok?
Thread poster: Céline Grossemy
Céline Grossemy
Céline Grossemy  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:29
English to French
+ ...
Jan 16, 2018

Dear all,

I have recently started applying to some translation agencies. I am completely new to the world of freelance translation, having only done volunteer translation work so far.
After taking an online test for one of the translation agencies, they reached out to me by email asking me to send them a copy of my CV, a link to my website or Proz profile and a copy of my ID.
While I don't mind sending them my CV and a link to my profile on Proz, I am not so sure about
... See more
Dear all,

I have recently started applying to some translation agencies. I am completely new to the world of freelance translation, having only done volunteer translation work so far.
After taking an online test for one of the translation agencies, they reached out to me by email asking me to send them a copy of my CV, a link to my website or Proz profile and a copy of my ID.
While I don't mind sending them my CV and a link to my profile on Proz, I am not so sure about a copy of my ID and I was wondering whether this is common practice for agencies to ask for such things?
I am well aware of all the scams that translators face everyday, and maybe I am being too careful but I thought I'd rather ask an experienced community before sending them anything.

Thank you for your time,

Céline.
Collapse

Terry Richards
Terry Richards
France
Local time: 11:29
French to English
+ ...
Tell them... Jan 16, 2018

...that you would be happy to send your ID just as soon as you receive a copy of the company owner's ID.

Maria Teresa Sammarco
Maria Teresa Sammarco  Identity Verified
Romania
English to Italian
+ ...
Yes, it happens Jan 16, 2018

Dear Celine,