Steps to establish reputation before getting started in translation career
Thread poster: dwilikers
dwilikers
dwilikers
United States
Local time: 09:11
Sep 3, 2016

A quick backstory: 10 years ago, I attempted to be a translator in a different source language than the one I'm asking about for a few months. I was very young and made a lot of mistakes, and after 6 months, and some serious evaluation on my skillset and what I was willing to do to improve in my source language, I stopped, got a career in IT, and I have been doing that since.

Later, I decided to learn Portuguese (BR), and thanks to the job I had when I started learning, I've had som
... See more
A quick backstory: 10 years ago, I attempted to be a translator in a different source language than the one I'm asking about for a few months. I was very young and made a lot of mistakes, and after 6 months, and some serious evaluation on my skillset and what I was willing to do to improve in my source language, I stopped, got a career in IT, and I have been doing that since.

Later, I decided to learn Portuguese (BR), and thanks to the job I had when I started learning, I've had some real world opportunities to read and translate (for fun). Now, I am working for a large company with a very global presence. My job isn't related to translating and interpreting, but through some of the opportunities offered through my job, I've been writing daily, reading daily, and speaking almost daily in Portuguese, and I have been teaching English to my Lusophone colleagues.

I think I have a lot more to offer now that I have actual work experience, but due to my issues from before, I'm wondering what are other things I could do to show demonstrated experience with Portuguese as my source language (other than living in Brazil).