what to include in job application message? (+replying to a posting in same or another language?)
Thread poster: Marco Dozzi
Marco Dozzi
Marco Dozzi  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:54
German to English
+ ...
Apr 19, 2016

Hi everyone,

I'm new to freelance translation and am trying to get myself established. I was just wondering if anyone had tips for what to include in the body of the message that one sends in response to a job posting. Until now, in these messages, I've been citing the fact that I'm relatively new to translation and am willing to work for low rates...I also qualify that, however, by adding that I have high confidence in the quality of my translations and have already received very
... See more
Hi everyone,

I'm new to freelance translation and am trying to get myself established. I was just wondering if anyone had tips for what to include in the body of the message that one sends in response to a job posting. Until now, in these messages, I've been citing the fact that I'm relatively new to translation and am willing to work for low rates...I also qualify that, however, by adding that I have high confidence in the quality of my translations and have already received very positive feedback for the few professional translations that I've done. Would it be better not to mention that I'm new? Any other things I might include?

I'm also wondering if it's considered OK to reply to job postings in a language other than the one they are posted in. More specifically, until now I have been typing my messages in English, even if the language of the posting is something else. My reasoning is that I don't have to prove I can write well in another language, only that I can translate it well, and given that English is my first language I'm naturally much more confident in my ability to write well in English than any other language.

Thanks!
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 07:54
Member (2007)
English