Thread poster: Ian Kahn
Ian Kahn
Ian Kahn
United Kingdom
Local time: 23:55
German to English
Feb 6, 2016

Hello Everyone,

In the last few months I've been getting very serious about building my freelance translating business in Germany. It's always been a passion of mine and I want to really focus on making it my full-time profession this year. I've been translating German to English on the side in the US for about 5 years and have been living in Munich, Germany for about 6 months. My day job is in online marketing and the company that I came here to work for has decided to part ways. I
... See more
Hello Everyone,

In the last few months I've been getting very serious about building my freelance translating business in Germany. It's always been a passion of mine and I want to really focus on making it my full-time profession this year. I've been translating German to English on the side in the US for about 5 years and have been living in Munich, Germany for about 6 months. My day job is in online marketing and the company that I came here to work for has decided to part ways. I'm now out of a job and, the way I see it, it's a now or never chance for me to get serious about my translation work.

Ideally I would like to sign a contract with an agency that can provide me with consistent work (albeit not very lucrative) while I develop my direct client network. I consider myself a very good translator and I am very proud of my work. I have a bachelors degree in German but I do not have any translation certifications and currently do not belong to any organizations (although I'm working on that).

Can anyone give me some suggestions to agencies in Germany, especially in the Munich area, that would take on someone like me? If not, what are some next steps I can take? I have experience in online marketing and website translations and would prefer to specialize in online marketing, travel/tourism, or finance.

Many thanks in advance,
Ian

[Edited at 2016-02-06 14:22 GMT]