Thread poster: Alyssa Yorgan
Alyssa Yorgan
Alyssa Yorgan  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 10:37
Russian to English
Jan 28, 2016

Hello,

I'm new to freelance work and want to know if people have had to buy specific CAT tools in order to work with agencies. I more-or-less have a grasp on how CATs work from my previous in-house job (we used Swordfish), but I don't know if I should take the plunge and actually buy one of the expensive tools now, or wait until an agency requests that I buy a specific one. I have an ABBYY SmartCAT account, but I realize that I might run into NDA issues with certain clients.
... See more
Hello,

I'm new to freelance work and want to know if people have had to buy specific CAT tools in order to work with agencies. I more-or-less have a grasp on how CATs work from my previous in-house job (we used Swordfish), but I don't know if I should take the plunge and actually buy one of the expensive tools now, or wait until an agency requests that I buy a specific one. I have an ABBYY SmartCAT account, but I realize that I might run into NDA issues with certain clients.

I'm interested in Fluency for its language-specific glossary function, and CafeTran seems like a great affordable tool that is constantly being developed. Is there a lot of pressure to purchase Trados though? Will I lose work if I don't list Trados, MemoQ, etc. on my profile?

I have a Mac, and would need for any tool to be compatible with OS (or at least for service to extend to users running the tool on Windows emulators.)

Your advice is much appreciated!

Alyssa
Collapse

Selcuk Akyuz
Selcuk Akyuz  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 17:37
English to Turkish
+ ...
I still translate without SDL Studio Jan 28, 2016

Years ago, before Studio days, there was Trados. All were saying it is a must but I was translating anything with Deja Vu X. Now, some people still think all works require a Studio, no! I still translate with Deja Vu X.