How to become an excellent italian-english translator and vice versa?
Thread poster: Basma Hakim
Basma Hakim
Basma Hakim
Egypt
Local time: 12:37
Arabic to English
+ ...
Jan 28, 2016

Hello;
I'm Basma from Egypt.I studied Italian and English language and I want to start translating from and to both, but I do not know how. Please help me, I searched free courses for this or free translated samples or free training but unfortunately no result, so what I can do?

Thanks in advance.

Serena Basili
Serena Basili  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 12:37
English to Italian
+ ...
Salam Basma! Jan 28, 2016

My opinion is that you can professionally translate INTO a language that is not your native one ONLY after you have been living in the country where it is spoken, i.e. Italy and/or UK/Ireland/USA/Canada/Australia/New Zealand for many years (and I would suggest to have a proofreader for at least the first translations to check quality, however).
In fact, the level of knowledge required for translating in a professional manner into any language is the same of a native speaker.

... See more
My opinion is that you can professionally translate INTO a language that is not your native one ONLY after you have been living in the country where it is spoken, i.e. Italy and/or UK/Ireland/USA/Canada/Australia/New Zealand for many years (and I would suggest to have a proofreader for at least the first translations to check quality, however).
In fact, the level of knowledge required for translating in a professional manner into any language is the same of a native speaker.

What I can suggest is that you keep on with your studies in Italian and English and use these as SOURCE languages, having only Arabic -I guess it's your mother tongue, right? - as your target language.

!! بالتوفيق

[Edited at 2016-01-28 13:06 GMT]
Collapse

Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)
Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 17:37
English to Thai
+ ...
My initial success Jan 28, 2016