Thread poster: Ian Kahn
Ian Kahn
Ian Kahn
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:59
German to English
Jan 19, 2016

Hello!

My name is Ian Kahn. I am 24 years old from the US living in Munich, Germany. For the last 5 years or so I have been translating as a freelancer on the side. Now that I have a few years of professional experience behind me working at online markeintg agencies in New York and now in Munich, I'm eager to take my translating to the next level.

My question is two-fold:
1. the BDÜ is located here in Munich. I think my first step should be to join and attend som
... See more
Hello!

My name is Ian Kahn. I am 24 years old from the US living in Munich, Germany. For the last 5 years or so I have been translating as a freelancer on the side. Now that I have a few years of professional experience behind me working at online markeintg agencies in New York and now in Munich, I'm eager to take my translating to the next level.

My question is two-fold:
1. the BDÜ is located here in Munich. I think my first step should be to join and attend some meetings. Is this the right approach?

2. There is an very intriguing conference happening in Poland with some really interesting presentations. Does it make sense for someone like me (some freelance experience, no agency experience, no accreditations) to spend the money to attend with the intention of networking? Would this be a waste of money or a turning point in my business?

Thanks so much in advance for any advice

-Ian
Collapse

Fiona Grace Peterson
Fiona Grace Peterson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 06:59
Italian to English
Never underestimate the value of networking! Jan 19, 2016

To me, networking in person is one of the most valuable things you can do as a freelancer. With the amount of social medial options now at our disposal, some professionals think that this allows them to forgo in-person meetings: while both are useful, nothing beats meeting potential contacts in person, and making a good impression.