Just getting started
Thread poster: Silvia_Sevil (X)
Silvia_Sevil (X)
Silvia_Sevil (X)
Mexico
Local time: 09:15
English to Spanish
Nov 8, 2014

Hello everyone, I am just getting started. Even though I did some translation and interpreting jobs in the past I really love English and want to pursue translation and interpretation as a new career. I've seen there are many softwares that I need to learn. In the meantime, I will use my brains and energy. I appreciate very much your help. Comments tips and ideas are more than welcome. Thank you

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 18:15
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
Tips Nov 9, 2014

ProZ.com is definitely an excellent place to start. I recommend that you try to get familiar with all the menus and submenus in ProZ. This will pay off later. I believe translation software is rather optional. You can get into that much later in your cereer. Meanwhile, Microsoft Office is all you need. Of course, you need to have a CV/resume designed for translation and interpretation. This is important. Clients/employers will ask for your CV/resume first. You should try to polish that ... See more
ProZ.com is definitely an excellent place to start. I recommend that you try to get familiar with all the menus and submenus in ProZ. This will pay off later. I believe translation software is rather optional. You can get into that much later in your cereer. Meanwhile, Microsoft Office is all you need. Of course, you need to have a CV/resume designed for translation and interpretation. This is important. Clients/employers will ask for your CV/resume first. You should try to polish that CV/resume. There is a whole lot of information for doing that on the Internet. Good luck in your cereer as a translator and interpreter.Collapse

DLyons
DLyons  Identity Verified
Ireland
Local time: 16:15
Spanish to English
+ ...
Good luck Nov 9, 2014