Unchalind Phongsamai
Unchalind Phongsamai  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 04:02
English to Thai
+ ...
Sep 26, 2014

Hi all,

I'm a newbie freelance translator. Before register at proz.com, I had worked for 3 years as an in-house translator for a foreign company doing high speed train system business in Thailand.

I took proz.com training relevant to getting established freelancer.

My first translation as a freelancer is a Patent translation, which went well.

However, I have just been turned down from an agency because I have less experience as a freelancer.... See more
Hi all,

I'm a newbie freelance translator. Before register at proz.com, I had worked for 3 years as an in-house translator for a foreign company doing high speed train system business in Thailand.

I took proz.com training relevant to getting established freelancer.

My first translation as a freelancer is a Patent translation, which went well.

However, I have just been turned down from an agency because I have less experience as a freelancer.

So, my question, which I need your suggestion, is how do I gain experience if no one give me opportunity.

However, I do understand that it would take many years to gain reputation and to be a well-established freelance translator. But I just want to make sure that I'm walking on the right direction.

I'd love to hear from you all.

Thank you.

Unchalind
Collapse

Jacques DP
Jacques DP  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 23:02
English to French
In short Sep 26, 2014

1. Make sure you provide quality translation (training, external validation, etc.)
  2. Make sure you project a professional image (work on your profile, use your real name, gain KudoZ points to be ranked well in directory searches, etc.)
  3. At first offer lower rates since you have little experience, then slowly raise your rates

By the way $0.11 per word for Thailand seems a lot, since the cost of living there is much less than, say, in Europe. Of cours
... See more