Industry reputation of online certificate programs
Thread poster: Laura Messer
Laura Messer
Laura Messer  Identity Verified
Canada
Spanish to English
May 8, 2014

I am in the process of relocating from the US to Canada - immigration application sitting at the visa office. In the meantime, I am thinking about my options for changing careers. I have been working as a legal assistant for the past 8 years and have a graduate certificate in paralegal studies from a reputable US institution but I am tired of the legal services world. I had considered translation studies in the past and had dec... See more
I am in the process of relocating from the US to Canada - immigration application sitting at the visa office. In the meantime, I am thinking about my options for changing careers. I have been working as a legal assistant for the past 8 years and have a graduate certificate in paralegal studies from a reputable US institution but I am tired of the legal services world. I had considered translation studies in the past and had decided to put that off and instead do some volunteer translating to build up a portfolio of work. I now have a fair amount of projects under my belt as a part-time volunteer translator but am considering now may be a good time to go back to school to get some sort of educational qualification but I feel going for another post-graduate certificate as opposed to a master's degree is a better option for me to get some qualification without spending an inordinate amount of money - I don't need to rack up tens of thousands more in student loans!