How do I decide if I should use a "stage name"?
Thread poster: Roni Osbern
Roni Osbern
Roni Osbern  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:06
French to English
Apr 4, 2014

I work in sales for a national interpretation company, but would like to begin translating as a freelancer marketing myself to international companies only, to be sure I have no conflict of interest. Also, I have a male name, although I am female, and several voice-over agencies have contacted me for male voice-over parts. --- I'm considering using a traditionally female stage name so that my gender is clear, and so that clients from my day job do not see that I'm freelancing.
My concern i
... See more
I work in sales for a national interpretation company, but would like to begin translating as a freelancer marketing myself to international companies only, to be sure I have no conflict of interest. Also, I have a male name, although I am female, and several voice-over agencies have contacted me for male voice-over parts. --- I'm considering using a traditionally female stage name so that my gender is clear, and so that clients from my day job do not see that I'm freelancing.
My concern is that I'll want to remain listed on the ATA site with my real name (I do not believe that the ATA allows stage names), and that at some point it would be a disadvantage to essentially have two businesses.

Have any of your done this? Are there disadvantages that I've not considered?
Collapse

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 21:06
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Don't Apr 4, 2014