Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Should I give up trying to work as a freelance translator?
Thread poster: Antonio Arizcun
Antonio Arizcun
Antonio Arizcun  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 03:37
Member (2013)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Mar 25, 2014

Hi everyone,

I registered as proz.com paying member in July 2013 and have been since trying to establish myself as a freelance translator. I have an English degree by Madrid´s Universidad Complutense as well as a Masters in Translation by Bristol´s UWE. I lived nearly ten years in the UK before moving back to Spain shortly before I registered here. I have attended all the courses I could regarding a wide variety of business issues as well as applying my own professional experienc
... See more
Hi everyone,

I registered as proz.com paying member in July 2013 and have been since trying to establish myself as a freelance translator. I have an English degree by Madrid´s Universidad Complutense as well as a Masters in Translation by Bristol´s UWE. I lived nearly ten years in the UK before moving back to Spain shortly before I registered here. I have attended all the courses I could regarding a wide variety of business issues as well as applying my own professional experience. I learned to use CAT tools and I would say I am fairly competent with them. I had a website professionally designed and made business cards, I am also part of the mentoring program and I have contacted hundreds of agencies, editors, etc., hardly receiving any replies. I am aware that my language pairs and my specialties are very common and that does not help me in my search for clients. That is why I decided to specialize further and take a couple of courses on localization. Last but not least, I believe my language skills are good and I can deliver good, quality translations.