Eva Pividal
Eva Pividal  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 10:17
French to Spanish
+ ...
Dec 12, 2013

Hello,

My name is Eva, im fairly new in the professional translation field (about 6 years)--

I am translating a book about wines, the author is spanish but the book will have a european scope.

It is the first time I performe such a job, -gernerally i get to translate web sites and articles, etc..
While translating it I have had many doubts about the procedure, towards the author, the agency, myself...

My concerns, for example, start in
... See more
Hello,

My name is Eva, im fairly new in the professional translation field (about 6 years)--

I am translating a book about wines, the author is spanish but the book will have a european scope.

It is the first time I performe such a job, -gernerally i get to translate web sites and articles, etc..
While translating it I have had many doubts about the procedure, towards the author, the agency, myself...

My concerns, for example, start in the paying methods; i have concluded that i won't send the job untill I recieve a written statement saying when, who, how.... because i feel the girl from the agency is not very competent and does not provide enough info..

My second concern is about the recognition of my translation, i dont even know how to say it, I would like to have my name in that book, as the translator that I am, but i am afraid that instead, it will be the name of the agency...

Anyhow i would like to hear some experiences about this, and advises on how this should be managed from the beginning.. I felt quite unsafe

Many thanks in advance for your time!

Eva
Collapse

Kevin Fulton
Kevin Fulton  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:17
German to English
Get a purchase order NOW Dec 12, 2013

Eva Pividal wrote: