Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
New guy on the block fishing for some clients, how do I start?
Thread poster: Dark Ariel7
Dark Ariel7
Dark Ariel7
United States
Local time: 15:37
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 1, 2013

Hey guys I am new to translation as a whole. I am in need of money and realized that I have enough knowledge to try my hand at translations. I am trying to start this off as my part time work. I am in high school now so I have no degrees. I have no idea whatsoever on how to actually find work. I googled with little luck. It all seems basically to say that you should market yourself in to friends and use social media. Unfortunately, I dont really have those as options. I know Spanish and I know E... See more
Hey guys I am new to translation as a whole. I am in need of money and realized that I have enough knowledge to try my hand at translations. I am trying to start this off as my part time work. I am in high school now so I have no degrees. I have no idea whatsoever on how to actually find work. I googled with little luck. It all seems basically to say that you should market yourself in to friends and use social media. Unfortunately, I dont really have those as options. I know Spanish and I know English. Nothing impressive there. I really just want to start off; I really don't mind a nearly non-existent pay, at first.
I have the internet, The full Adobe suit and microsoft office pro.
Do you have any suggestions for a new guy?
P.S. I tried the tool here to find some work but I am having some trouble with it as well.

[Edited at 2013-07-01 19:49 GMT]
Collapse

Łukasz Gos-Furmankiewicz
Łukasz Gos-Furmankiewicz  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 00:37
English to Polish
+ ...
It's possible to do that, but it will be difficult Jul 2, 2013

You'll need to prepare for a lot of, well, not really rejection, but unwillingness to work with someone your age and in the same place regarding his education as you now are.