Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Seven years' experience but can't find freelance work?
Thread poster: mattsmith
mattsmith
mattsmith
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:59
German to English
+ ...
Jun 3, 2013

I have seven years' in-house experience of translating from German (A language) and French (B language) into English. I mainly translate marketing, telecoms, law and finance. I also have a university degree in German and an MA degree in Translation. I am now looking to go freelance. I consider my suggested rates to be pretty competitive.
However, I have recently sent my CV and covering letter to several agencies, carefully selecting ones on Proz with a good blue-board rating, including on
... See more
I have seven years' in-house experience of translating from German (A language) and French (B language) into English. I mainly translate marketing, telecoms, law and finance. I also have a university degree in German and an MA degree in Translation. I am now looking to go freelance. I consider my suggested rates to be pretty competitive.
However, I have recently sent my CV and covering letter to several agencies, carefully selecting ones on Proz with a good blue-board rating, including ones that have recently posted advertisements saying they are looking for staff, and also agencies I have heard of through my current job. Unfortunately, and rather shockingly, I have had no responses from any of them at all!
I actually had more responses from the agencies I applied to seven years ago when I was fresh from university with no professional translating experience, when I seem to remember quite a few agencies wrote back to me, some offering me dribs and drabs of work, albeit at very low rates, which is why I went in-house.
How many agencies does a fledgling freelancer like me with considerable experience have to apply to before they get work?
Or is the market very quiet / extremely competitive at the moment or something?
Thanks in advance for your suggestions.