Raised my rate but lost a client
Thread poster: Erin O
Erin O
Erin O
Local time: 06:47
Italian to English
May 26, 2013

I've been translating for almost 2 years. When I started I charged rates that I didn't realize were much too low. Then after working with a translation center and being paid well for my work, I decided to increase my rates to my freelance clients to match. Recently an older client brought me a proofreading/revision project, so I explained that my rates had increased but I tried to negotiate something agreeable to both of us so as not to lose the project.
I asked for $8 (USD) per page, neg
... See more
I've been translating for almost 2 years. When I started I charged rates that I didn't realize were much too low. Then after working with a translation center and being paid well for my work, I decided to increase my rates to my freelance clients to match. Recently an older client brought me a proofreading/revision project, so I explained that my rates had increased but I tried to negotiate something agreeable to both of us so as not to lose the project.
I asked for $8 (USD) per page, negotiable. I prefer to charge by page for revisions because not every word will need editing, and I am slower than more established translators. But in the end she said she had other translators who would work for 4.5 Euro. Did I screw up?
Collapse

Rita Pang
Rita Pang  Identity Verified
Canada
Member (2011)
Chinese to English
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
In short: no May 26, 2013

Erin O wrote:

I asked for $8 (USD) per page, negotiable. I prefer to charge by page for revisions because not every word will need editing, and I am slower than more established translators. But in the end she said she had other translators who would work for 4.5 Euro. Did I screw up?