What does "delivery deadline" refer to exactly in job postings?
Thread poster: marta pires
marta pires
marta pires
Portugal
Local time: 12:09
English to Portuguese
+ ...
May 25, 2013

Hi everyone,

I'm a new translator, just graduated and just registered in PROZ.
I'm getting a bit confused navigating through job offers in this site, especially in what refers to job posters' "DELIVERY DEADLINES", which I at first understood to be OUR delivery deadline, but sometimes are set one hour or a few hours after the quoting deadline and in some cases this just seems totally unfeasible due to the high workload/word count.
Although this is probably a silly quest
... See more
Hi everyone,

I'm a new translator, just graduated and just registered in PROZ.
I'm getting a bit confused navigating through job offers in this site, especially in what refers to job posters' "DELIVERY DEADLINES", which I at first understood to be OUR delivery deadline, but sometimes are set one hour or a few hours after the quoting deadline and in some cases this just seems totally unfeasible due to the high workload/word count.
Although this is probably a silly question, I'm also quite green at this, so can any of you wiser, more experienced translators and more experienced users of this site clear this doubt for me?
Thank you very much!

Marta
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:09
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Not a silly question May 27, 2013

Hello Marta,

Not a silly question - I sometimes cannot believe the delivery deadlines! My understanding is that this is when they are expecting the job to be delivered by you or me. Of course, they are hoping that someone will snatch up the offer within seconds of it being posted, and will start work very soon after, so I don't think the closeness of the two deadlines is relevant.

But I agree that they are quite often totally impossible for one person to achieve (unles
... See more
Hello Marta,