A good way to gain experience? And other useful resources?
Thread poster: LaurenFeather
LaurenFeather
LaurenFeather
Local time: 00:18
French to English
+ ...
Apr 28, 2013

Hello, I'm a recent languagues graduate, wanting to gain professional translation experience. I have recently joined this site, with the intention of offering French to English translations free of charge in order to gain such experience, and valuable feedback. But I am just wondering, for the more experienced translators on here, what is the best way to begin in the field of online translation? I am slowly learning that nobody wants to give you any work unless you have experience, but gaining e... See more
Hello, I'm a recent languagues graduate, wanting to gain professional translation experience. I have recently joined this site, with the intention of offering French to English translations free of charge in order to gain such experience, and valuable feedback. But I am just wondering, for the more experienced translators on here, what is the best way to begin in the field of online translation? I am slowly learning that nobody wants to give you any work unless you have experience, but gaining experience is extremely difficult since nobody wants to give you work. Does anybody have any recommendations for getting started? Also, can anybody recommend any useful books, websites or other resources for aspiring, inexperienced translators such as myself? And I apologise if this post is in the wrong forum. I am still learning how to navigate the site.

Many thanks for any advice!
Collapse

Paulinho Fonseca
Paulinho Fonseca  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 21:18
Member (2011)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Kudoz Apr 28, 2013

Hi Lauren,

I definitely recommend your participation in the daily Kudoz activities. They are the very best way to gain notoriety as a linguist.

Track regular translators and good luck.

Paulinho

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...