Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
I need help getting started
Thread poster: franistart
Jan 6, 2013

First off, I am new to this site, so if I am breaking any forum rules or something, please direct me on the right path. If this would be better suited to a different forum, let me know. I'll be happy to move to the more appropriate place.

Anyway, I am trying to figure out what to do. I am very interested in translation/interpretation in English>Russian or vice versa. I am an American student, and I just received my Associate's of Art at a small college that doesn't offer any Russian
... See more
First off, I am new to this site, so if I am breaking any forum rules or something, please direct me on the right path. If this would be better suited to a different forum, let me know. I'll be happy to move to the more appropriate place.

Anyway, I am trying to figure out what to do. I am very interested in translation/interpretation in English>Russian or vice versa. I am an American student, and I just received my Associate's of Art at a small college that doesn't offer any Russian courses. I went there two years because it was local and cheap. Now that I have my AA, I can transfer to a bigger school, but my problem is that I have no idea which school is best.

Does it matter which school I go to so long as I learn the language? Do I need to plan which school to go to in order to be eligible for certification with the ATA? From lurking around on this forum, I've found out that certification is handy, but not extremely unnecessary. Plus, there are more associations than the ATA such as the ITI. (Which was followed with an eye roll in the post I saw?)

I'm not asking for somebody to list all of the steps I need to do in order to start a career in translation/interpretation, but I really need some guidance. I don't know any people around my area that I can get advise from.

So, to review:

Does it matter which school I get into? (Is Ivy League worth it?)