https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/237703-france_getting_asserment%C3%A9_without_speaking_french.html&phpv_redirected=1

France, getting assermenté WITHOUT speaking french?
Thread poster: Rafael Merino
Rafael Merino
Rafael Merino
France
English to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 19, 2012

Hello my dear colleagues;

I am a translator English-Spanish-English. I have been a translator for over 20 years, and now I have just moved to Paris. And I do not speak French, other than on a very rudimentary level.

Doing some research, I have noticed that the procedures to become an "official" translator in France are WAY EASIER than in Spain. In Spain it´s next to impossible to become a "Traductor Jurado" (for Spanish readers, here is a very clarifying and informativ
... See more
Hello my dear colleagues;

I am a translator English-Spanish-English. I have been a translator for over 20 years, and now I have just moved to Paris. And I do not speak French, other than on a very rudimentary level.

Doing some research, I have noticed that the procedures to become an "official" translator in France are WAY EASIER than in Spain. In Spain it´s next to impossible to become a "Traductor Jurado" (for Spanish readers, here is a very clarifying and informative article outside of Proz: http://www.lalinternadeltraductor.org/n4/traductor-interprete-jurado.html), while here in France apparently you make a petition to a certain Tribunal de Grand Estance (excuse me if I´m mispelling) and make an oath, that´s it, you´re in, and you can get your own tampon. Allez-hop!

So naturally I´m quite interested. But the natural question that follows, for which I have not been able to find an answer yet, is: Could I pursue my status of "Traducteur Assermenté" for the languages of English - Spanish without the French? Or is it completely necessary to be a French speaker?

Thank you very much.
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 04:42
Member (2007)
English
+ ...