Thread poster: MarianaPerei (X)
MarianaPerei (X)
MarianaPerei (X)
Portugal
Local time: 02:12
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Jan 5, 2012

I'm currently studying to be a translator (English -> Portuguese, Spanish -> Portuguese) and, even though I really like my course, I have many friends who say that I should really worry about unemployment in translation. At first I didn't pay them much attention but the truth is that I sometimes worry about not having a job in translation. They say that technology is developing and online translators will end up being as good as human translators (I highly doubt that is possible, because we need... See more
I'm currently studying to be a translator (English -> Portuguese, Spanish -> Portuguese) and, even though I really like my course, I have many friends who say that I should really worry about unemployment in translation. At first I didn't pay them much attention but the truth is that I sometimes worry about not having a job in translation. They say that technology is developing and online translators will end up being as good as human translators (I highly doubt that is possible, because we need to adapt words to the context in which they appear, which is not something a computer can do for now).

Can you tell me about your experience as a translator? Was it very difficult for you to find a job? What are the advantages and disadvantages of this career?
Collapse

Claudia Brauer
Claudia Brauer  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:12
Member (2011)
English to Spanish
+ ...
The future is bright for translators and interpreters Jan 6, 2012