Thread poster: Hanne Van Puyvelde
Hanne Van Puyvelde
Hanne Van Puyvelde
Spain
Local time: 01:23
Spanish to Dutch
+ ...
Oct 7, 2011

Does anyone have experience with working for Clickworker? Is it abwaist of time or a good way to gain some experience?

Alex Lago
Alex Lago  Identity Verified
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
I would say NO Oct 8, 2011

I have no experience working with them in fact I didn't even know what they were till a few minutes ago when I read your question and checked out their website.

Looking at their rates, they charge clients €19.95 for a 1000 word text without quality control (I imagine that means only a translator and no proofreader) and €24.70 for a 1000 word text with quality control (I guess this means there is a proofreader).

So that means they are charging €0.01995 per word of
... See more
I have no experience working with them in fact I didn't even know what they were till a few minutes ago when I read your question and checked out their website.

Looking at their rates, they charge clients €19.95 for a 1000 word text without quality control (I imagine that means only a translator and no proofreader) and €24.70 for a 1000 word text with quality control (I guess this means there is a proofreader).

So that means they are charging €0.01995 per word of translation, I imagine they don't provide their "service" for free, so that means the translator must get paid less than that.

The proofreading is charged at €4.75 per 1,000 words (the difference between the prices I mentioned before), so that means €0.00475 per word and once again I imagine they don't provide their "service" for free, so that means the proofreader must get paid less than that.

So to make €100 you would have to translate more than 5,000 words or proofread more than 21,000 words.

So I would definitely say this is a waste of time for a professional, however as you mention using this to "gain some experience" I guess it pays more than free or pro-bono translations.