Tips for beginers: Proven Experience
Thread poster: TTGaleano
TTGaleano
TTGaleano
Colombia
Local time: 03:35
English to Spanish
Oct 1, 2011

Hi everybody. I'm new to PROZ and new in online professional translation, but I have at least 5 years experience translating from English > Spanish for local clients mostly by word of mouth because I don't actually advertise translating as a service on my website or CV. Since translating is not my “core business” and the local certification test is a year away* I'd like to know: how can I build “proven experience”? My past customers have no online presence, and most of my t... See more
Hi everybody. I'm new to PROZ and new in online professional translation, but I have at least 5 years experience translating from English > Spanish for local clients mostly by word of mouth because I don't actually advertise translating as a service on my website or CV. Since translating is not my “core business” and the local certification test is a year away* I'd like to know: how can I build “proven experience”? My past customers have no online presence, and most of my translations go to printing and private use. I joined hopping that Proz offered a way to build such experience but I have not found how since most of the jobs require experience and I'm not sure if I want to start quoting for jobs if my profile is not competitive enough.

That said, I have been doing translations as a freelance for a local language school for at least 3 years, I don't know if that would be useful, should I ask them for a reference letter or certification?

Also, is there anyone reading this that would like to help me adding me to some project? So I can work and get a certifiable experience in the online translation industry. I focus on English > Spanish being a native Spanish speaker, Marketing, advertising and IT are my main fields of work. I'm willing to do any test before being accepted, I'm confident in my translating talent and experience.