Manuel Rodriguez
Manuel Rodriguez  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 03:52
English to Spanish
+ ...
Apr 23, 2004

Hello:

I'm new to the translation business (I don't have any diplomas, but I do have enthusiasm) and wanted to know about your first experiences on the job. It is difficult for me to see how it's possible for an agency to hire you if you don't have experience, and at the same time, you can't acquire any experience because nobody will hire you.... Mi question is, how did you manage to break that vicious cycle?

Thanking you in advance,
R.Ramírez

Lesley Clarke
Lesley Clarke  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 04:52
Spanish to English
Other aspects Apr 23, 2004

Well what do you have? What have you studied, worked at, had as a hobby? How and where did you learn English? Have you ever had anything you've written published?
If you haven't got anything there that is saleable, maybe you should be patient and get a diploma in translation for starters.

Eng2Span
Eng2Span  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:52
English to Spanish
+ ...
just a suggestion... Apr 23, 2004

I know it doesn't sound inviting, but how about starting out translating small projects for free?

There are two big advantages to doing this:

1- You find work much quicker, and get to see if your skills really are at the level the job requires without the commitment of a payed project. These projects can help build a portfolio that you can present as "experience".
2- When you do start charging you can do so at a market rate, without the hassle of having to expla
... See more
I know it doesn't sound inviting, but how about starting out translating small projects for free?

There are two big advantages to doing this:

1- You find work much quicker, and get to see if your skills really are at the level the job requires without the commitment of a payed project. These projects can help build a portfolio that you can present as "experience".