ATA testing
Thread poster: adria mooney
adria mooney
adria mooney  Identity Verified
Local time: 10:49
German to English
Apr 16, 2004

I am a new translator and recently became a member of the ATA. I want to take the test but I have no idea what to expect. I don't want to waste my money on it if I am not prepared to pass it, but there is one scheduled in my area in one month from now. Does anyone have any advice as to how the test is structured, what tools are allowed, the topics of the translations, etc.? Thank you!

Ildiko Santana
Ildiko Santana  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 01:49
Member (2002)
Hungarian to English
+ ...

a luxury item IMHO, but if you can afford it, go for it Apr 16, 2004

Hello Adria,

The tests are not too difficult; you have quite a broad range to choose from, and the time allowed is reasonable.

Last time I tried for it there were 4 texts from 4 specialty fields (business, legal, technical, literary) and one generic - if memory serves me right.

No tools are allowed, only printed dictionaries. That can give you a hint of where they stand as far as testing your skills in the usage of all the goodies of our technically over-de
... See more
Hello Adria,

The tests are not too difficult; you have quite a broad range to choose from, and the time allowed is reasonable.

Last time I tried for it there were 4 texts from 4 specialty fields (business, legal, technical, literary) and one generic - if memory serves me right.

No tools are allowed, only printed dictionaries. That can give you a hint of where they stand as far as testing your skills in the usage of all the goodies of our technically over-developed age. No electronic tool is allowed. Zip. Zero. You can bring a suitcase full of printed dictionaries, though. Also, tests are to be submitted in handwriting only. Yes, it does sound strange, in the year 2004!