Better investment - certification or CAT tool?
Thread poster: Anthony Mazzorana (X)
Anthony Mazzorana (X)
Anthony Mazzorana (X)  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:24
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 7, 2011

I'm curious to hear people's opinions on this.. If you were to reinvest some of your earnings in either (a) a Cat tool or (B) ATA certification, which would you choose to put your money toward? Pretend you had to choose one or the other. I realize there's a price difference but just go with the scenario for the sake of discussion.

Thanks!

[Edited at 2011-06-07 15:45 GMT]

Daina Jauntirans
Daina Jauntirans  Identity Verified
Local time: 08:24
German to English
+ ...
CAT tool Jun 7, 2011

I've been asked by clients about using CAT tools, but have never been asked for ATA certification. That said, I have a degree in translation, so that may be the reason. If I didn't, I might go for certification first.

Lori Cirefice
Lori Cirefice  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 15:24
French to English
ATA or similar Jun 7, 2011

I have plenty of CAT tools and all the "translator" software I need at the moment, including software I purchased but didn't yet put to use I may need a new computer soon though, this one is already 3 years old!

I am not yet certified. I was interested in the ATA certification and went so far as to do the test translations, but I would have to travel quite a distance to sit for the exam, it will be a big expense. I di
... See more
I have plenty of CAT tools and all the "translator" software I need at the moment, including software I purchased but didn't yet put to use I may need a new computer soon though, this one is already 3 years old!