Thread poster: delphinedh
delphinedh
delphinedh
Local time: 15:42
Dutch to French
+ ...
May 19, 2011

Hello everybody,

I am in the process of starting as a translator. I have a university degree in languages but I am not a translator. I have little experience and have always worked without any CAT tool.

I would like to ask you if I should seriously consider buying a CAT tool. Did most of you start with one, or did you begin to use one along the way?

As I said, I am new to all this, so I don't know all the advantages of those tools.

Can you gi
... See more
Hello everybody,

I am in the process of starting as a translator. I have a university degree in languages but I am not a translator. I have little experience and have always worked without any CAT tool.

I would like to ask you if I should seriously consider buying a CAT tool. Did most of you start with one, or did you begin to use one along the way?

As I said, I am new to all this, so I don't know all the advantages of those tools.

Can you give me some advice, tips, ideas, thoughts about this matter?

Thank you very much!

Delphine
Collapse

Christine Andersen
Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
Start with one that is free May 20, 2011

The short answer to your question IMHO is yes.

Many agencies and clients use them, and you cut yourself off from a lot of potential work if you cannot handle them. I think there are many advantages, not only for clients, but for you.

The only CATs I know are Trados and Wordfast Classic, but there are lots of others, and many are free, or have good demo versions that are free.

The Classic version of Wordfast works very well for many of the basic funct
... See more
The short answer to your question IMHO is yes.

Many agencies and clients use them, and you cut yourself off from a lot of potential work if you cannot handle them. I think there are many advantages, not only for clients, but for you.