How can I state my experience as proofreader in my CV?
Thread poster: Luciana F (X)
Luciana F (X)
Luciana F (X)
Argentina
English to Spanish
May 5, 2011

Hello,

I’m fairly new in the profession and recently I started proofreading and editing press releases for an agency.

I want to update my CV and I’m not sure how to add that information to it.

And also, how is the best way to calculate the rate?

Thanks in advance.

Yael Katz
Yael Katz  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:17
English to German
+ ...
Charge by the hour May 6, 2011

I have seen many job posts that offer proofreading rates as half the word price of a translation. However, you could end up having to make so many changes or actually re-translate entire passages that a word rate simply does not pay off. Therefore, I strongly recommend charging by the hour. This requires a little experience as to how many pages you can read per hour but you'll get an idea quickly. This chart gives you an overview of hourly and pe... See more
I have seen many job posts that offer proofreading rates as half the word price of a translation. However, you could end up having to make so many changes or actually re-translate entire passages that a word rate simply does not pay off. Therefore, I strongly recommend charging by the hour. This requires a little experience as to how many pages you can read per hour but you'll get an idea quickly. This chart gives you an overview of hourly and per word rates in the community: http://search.proz.com/employers/rates.

I have listed proofreading projects on my CV by giving either the word or page count as well as a general description of the text (no confidential details of the project, of course!). e. g. proofreading/editing, business letter, English into German, 350 words.
However, I am still looking for a good sample of a translators CV because I'm not sure if I should list every single project or just provide a word count on a certain topic or field. Suggestions welcome!