Where do I find jobs as a ES/PT > EN translator?
Thread poster: Michelle Temple
Michelle Temple
Michelle Temple  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 17:58
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Mar 26, 2004

Hello,

I graduated last December with an MA in translation studies specialized in translation from Spanish and Portuguese into English. I'm currently in the UK and am finding it quite difficult to find jobs in my langauge pair. Due to my limited experience, I'm focussing primarily on finding an in-house translation job or an administrative job requiring translation (there don't seem to be many of either). I've also been applying to agencies as a freelancer but never hear anything
... See more
Hello,

I graduated last December with an MA in translation studies specialized in translation from Spanish and Portuguese into English. I'm currently in the UK and am finding it quite difficult to find jobs in my langauge pair. Due to my limited experience, I'm focussing primarily on finding an in-house translation job or an administrative job requiring translation (there don't seem to be many of either). I've also been applying to agencies as a freelancer but never hear anything from them.
It seems that almost all jobs are for translators working INTO Spanish and Portuguese. Where are all the jobs for those of us translating into English? Would I be better off moving to Spain or Portugal or another Spanish or Portuguese speaking country? It's been almost 8 months since I started looking for work. In my spare time I've been doing volunteer translations (for the UN online volunteering program) and haven't quit my day-job, but am starting to near my wits' end with finding translation work.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!
Thanks!
Collapse

Anjo Sterringa
Anjo Sterringa  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 01:58
English to Dutch
+ ...
Specialize and internet... Mar 26, 2004

Michelle Temple de Pérez wrote: