Getting started: where to start?
Thread poster: Simon Georgiou
Simon Georgiou
Simon Georgiou  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:54
German to English
+ ...
Mar 1, 2004

Hi. I'm a teacher currently thinking about a gradual change of career. I'm fluent in French, German and Italian (mother tongue English) and have done bits and bobs of tranlations, but nothing to write home about.

What hardware, software, dictionaries and other stuff should I invest in? What about a key text that all freelance translators worth their salt should have read?

All advice gratefully accepted!

sigeorgiou

Margaret Schroeder
Margaret Schroeder  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 21:54
Spanish to English
+ ...
Two useful books on the freelance translation business Mar 1, 2004

sigeorgiou wrote:
What about a key text that all freelance translators worth their salt should have read?
sigeorgiou

I also read A Practical Guide for Translators by G. Samuelsson-Brown and The Translators Handbook by M. Sofer and I would definitely recommend the above books over these two.

Monika Coulson
Monika Coulson  Identity Verified
Local time: 21:54
Member (2001)
English to Albanian
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Get a webpage Mar 1, 2004

It will help as well.

Monika

sigeorgiou wrote:
All advice gratefully accepted!
sigeorgiou

[Edited at 2004-03-01 18:37]

Nenija Hasanic
Nenija Hasanic
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Local time: 05:54
English to Bosnian
+ ...
Few basic steps! Mar 1, 2004

I would (before investing some money) advise you to invest some time in developing your business. First, visit some freelancer's web sites and based on that experience try to build your own web site. There is a lot of free tools or online wizards that can help you build a simple, but still very usefull web presentation. Then, go through ProZ forums. This is an amazing site and it offers a lot of help and useful guides and tips to newcomers. I also recommend some voluntary work in the beginning, ... See more