Thread poster: Mark Hamlen
Mark Hamlen
Mark Hamlen  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 14:39
French to English
+ ...
Aug 25, 2010

I've been translating for many years, but now looking to start freelancing (I'm half time now at my job).

I'm shocked to see jobs posted with budgets of USD 0.01 per word (which is something like EUR 0.008). Are people really accepting this work? How can you make a living working at that rate and turn out work you can still be proud of? Do CAT tools make this possible? I'm really confused.

pcovs
pcovs
Denmark
English to Danish
Search the forums Aug 25, 2010

I completely understand your confusion, and these things have and are constantly debated vigorously in these forums.

You should sift through some of the threads (perhaps searching for 'rates' or something would turn up quite a few of those), and I am sure you will feel much more reassured and a little less confused after that (perhaps the other way around, I don't know).

Jenn Mercer
Jenn Mercer  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:39
Member (2009)
French to English
It's not just you Aug 25, 2010

Mark Hamlen wrote:

I've been translating for many years, but now looking to start freelancing (I'm half time now at my job).

I'm shocked to see jobs posted with budgets of USD 0.01 per word (which is something like EUR 0.008). Are people really accepting this work? How can you make a living working at that rate and turn out work you can still be proud of? Do CAT tools make this possible? I'm really confused.

I think I saw the same job which you are referring to earlier this morning. No, those are not widely accepted rates, but think of the profit which the agency could make if someone falls for it.

Laurent KRAULAND (X)
Laurent KRAULAND (X)  Identity Verified
France
French to German
+ ...
Accepted rates? Aug 25, 2010

Jenn Mercer wrote: