retiring veterinarian starting from scratch as translator!
Thread poster: rowsbywoof
rowsbywoof
rowsbywoof
French to English
Jan 5, 2004

Hello, I am a retiring veterinarian who would like to do some online translating for fun and to make a little extra money. Although I read books in French as a hobby, I have absolutely no credentials. Where should I start? Should I take an online certificate program? If so are there any that can be completed at one's own pace? Is it possible to find occasional work without being glued to my computer? Any advise would be appreciated.
Lynda Fox

NGK
NGK  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 22:33
You're already an expert Jan 6, 2004

Is your French good enough so you can read specialized texts on veterinary medicine and related fields? If so — and assuming your English writing is strong and clear — you should be in a good position to establish yourself as a specialized translator in that area.

To find work, you could contact translation agencies — they're not difficult to find on the WWW, and even easier to find on ProZ and similar sites.

But as a veteran veterinarian (sorry, couldn't resist
... See more
Is your French good enough so you can read specialized texts on veterinary medicine and related fields? If so — and assuming your English writing is strong and clear — you should be in a good position to establish yourself as a specialized translator in that area.

To find work, you could contact translation agencies — they're not difficult to find on the WWW, and even easier to find on ProZ and similar sites.