Thread poster: Louise Watkins
Louise Watkins
Louise Watkins
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:57
Russian to English
Feb 26, 2010

Hi,
I'm just starting out and am wondering what a reasonable rate for a Russian - English translator is, who has a degree in Russian but is not yet accredited by IoL etc. I am also wondering about rates for proofreading Russian - English and French - English. Any hints would be really helpful!
Thanks
Best wishes,
Louise.

Rob Albon
Rob Albon  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:57
Japanese to English
+ ...
A knotty question Feb 26, 2010

Louise Watkins wrote:

Hi,
I'm just starting out and am wondering what a reasonable rate for a Russian - English translator is, who has a degree in Russian but is not yet accredited by IoL etc. I am also wondering about rates for proofreading Russian - English and French - English. Any hints would be really helpful!
Thanks
Best wishes,
Louise.

Hello,
I am going to give you the same advice which I received when I first started out.
Determine the hourly wage which you would like to earn.
Determine the amount of words you can translate in one hour.
Divide.
This is the rate you should charge.

If you find yourself overwhelmed with work, you can afford to raise your rate.
If you get no work, you should reduce your ideal hourly rate or increase the amount you produce per hour.

(I think once you enter a rate into your profile, you will be able to see what the market average is, and you can also use this to adjust your rate).

One key to keep in mind: It is easy to overestimate your hourly production. Of course you will not sit for 8 hours a day. So it might be best to translate for 2-3 hours and divide. Also, as you gain more experience, your concentration increases, so that you can translate steadily at a good speed for longer and longer periods of time. So you can expect hourly return to rise a little.

Best of luck!

Abba Storgen (X)
Abba Storgen (X)
United States
Local time: 20:57
Greek to English