Working in Brazil
Thread poster: Louise Bongiovanni
Louise Bongiovanni
Louise Bongiovanni
Local time: 04:51
Italian to English
+ ...
Feb 17, 2010

My question is about working in Brazil. What is the job market like for translation and interpreting in Brazil? I am just starting out as a translator/interpreter and would really like to move to Brazil, but my worry is that I would not find enough work, or that it would not be well-paid enough to survive/get back to England for holidays. What is your opinion?
Also is most of the work you get PortugueseEnglish?

Do many people work for companies in Europe/USA at the same time?
... See more
My question is about working in Brazil. What is the job market like for translation and interpreting in Brazil? I am just starting out as a translator/interpreter and would really like to move to Brazil, but my worry is that I would not find enough work, or that it would not be well-paid enough to survive/get back to England for holidays. What is your opinion?
Also is most of the work you get PortugueseEnglish?

Do many people work for companies in Europe/USA at the same time?

Then as for where to locate, which city is best? I'm guessing Sao Paulo...

Many thanks for your help!

Louise
Collapse

Paul Dixon
Paul Dixon  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 00:51
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Life and Translation in Brazil Feb 17, 2010

Dear Louise,

I have just read your post about your intention to move to Brazil and would like to provide some information.

1. The job market for translations is quite busy but saturated, as anyone with more than a basic knowledge of a language thinks they can translate. As a result, rates are extremely low compared to Europe or the United States. If you work for an agency it should not be a problem, as they have quality checks when hiring translators, but with private c
... See more
Dear Louise,

I have just read your post about your intention to move to Brazil and would like to provide some information.