Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Do I need to be certified to work in Canada?
Thread poster: Mohamed Mehenoun
Mohamed Mehenoun
Mohamed Mehenoun  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 01:22
English to French
+ ...
Feb 15, 2010

Hello,

I've been thinking of immigration to Québec and I was wondering if there is a need for a certification to work over there...

In other words, I graduated as an Engineer, but I'm not certified translator nor do I have a translation degree can I work as an independant in Québec if I go there the way it is done in Spain or in France ?

Thanks for your help and advise.

Best regards,

MoH

John Fossey
John Fossey  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 20:22
Member (2008)
French to English
+ ...
Not necessarily Feb 15, 2010

You don't need to be certified to work as a translator. You need to be certified by means of an exam and membership in the Ordre des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes agréés du Québec (www.ottiaq.org) in order to be called a "Certified Translator" or to work directly for either the provincial or the federal governments, and some companies and institutions.

[Edited at 2010-02-15 18:16 GMT]

Mohamed Mehenoun
Canada
English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Ordre des traducteurs du Québec Feb 15, 2010

Hello,

Actually that's what I was worried about !

What do I exactly need to do to provide translations to clients all over the world legally ?

Best regards,

Desdemone (X)
Desdemone (X)
Local time: 21:22
French to English
Have you considered Feb 15, 2010

a non-translation career, with the federal government. You're trilingual (a distinct advantage) and your résumé is impressive. Have you looked at
http://jobs-emplois.gc.ca/index-eng.htm

Click on Search for Jobs under Job Opportunities on the left hand side, which takes you to <
... See more
a non-translation career, with the federal government. You're trilingual (a distinct advantage) and your résumé is impressive. Have you looked at
http://jobs-emplois.gc.ca/index-eng.htm