Working for an Indian agency + not being ripped-off
Thread poster: ihd (X)
ihd (X)
ihd (X)
Local time: 12:36
Feb 14, 2010

Hello Proz members

What do you have to say about working with Indian agencies?

I'm a starting Japanese-English translator, and have passed several trials for Japanese agencies. However, as we all are aware, just because you are registered as a translator doesn't mean you have a job.

I was wondering about registering with agencies in India as well. However, I am a bit unsure about it. This is mainly because I've heard bad things about them from other tran
... See more
Hello Proz members

What do you have to say about working with Indian agencies?

I'm a starting Japanese-English translator, and have passed several trials for Japanese agencies. However, as we all are aware, just because you are registered as a translator doesn't mean you have a job.

I was wondering about registering with agencies in India as well. However, I am a bit unsure about it. This is mainly because I've heard bad things about them from other translators.

I was hoping that somebody could tell me their experiences working with agencies in India, or give any tips on not being ripped-off.

Thank you
Collapse

Sumit Sarkar
Sumit Sarkar  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 09:06
English to Bengali
+ ...
You may regret that decision Feb 18, 2010

Hi friend,

Don't u think it to be very mysterious that only after so many days u r at least getting a response on your topic? It indeed is so.

In fact Indians r hesitating to reply u as they don't wish to risk their reputation by telling a bare truth.

In most occasions experience will be as follows:

Firstly u will get an offer of almost 1/2, even 1/3 of the rate that u may get if u work for any non-Indian agency for exactly the same amount of
... See more
Hi friend,

Don't u think it to be very mysterious that only after so many days u r at least getting a response on your topic? It indeed is so.