Ronivaldo Silva
Ronivaldo Silva
Brazil
Local time: 03:26
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Nov 14, 2009

Hi everybody,

My name’s Rony. I’m Brazilian. I work as a freelancer doing translation services; but I’m also studying hard so as I improve my linguistic skills, especially in terms of doing a good written translation. I know I’ll have to keep studying in order to achieve such goal. Besides written translations, I do consecutive translations as well, for me to get this skill better, I always listen to audio files from the internet – radio shows, talk shows, documentaries, n
... See more
Hi everybody,

My name’s Rony. I’m Brazilian. I work as a freelancer doing translation services; but I’m also studying hard so as I improve my linguistic skills, especially in terms of doing a good written translation. I know I’ll have to keep studying in order to achieve such goal. Besides written translations, I do consecutive translations as well, for me to get this skill better, I always listen to audio files from the internet – radio shows, talk shows, documentaries, news… in many different topics and accents.

Now the most important thing I need to acquire is concerning on how to improve my written and oral translations (or versions). For this reason I decided to drop these lines. I’ve been searching for some suggestions; one of them was reading books related to the subject. So I’d like to ask for your suggestion about the books below. I’ve just read a small book, “Oficina de Tradução”. Now I’m thinking about getting this: “Construindo o Tradutor” written by Douglas Robinson.

So, please, let me know your opinions about it. I have had so many good orientations from this forum, that’s why I decided to post this question before buying the book. Your point of view and guidance are important to me.

I look forward to have your responses.

bye

Ronysalles.
Collapse

Lizette Britz
Lizette Britz  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 08:26
Member (2008)
English to Spanish