Do you know any "instant translation job sites"?
Thread poster: Petra Fischbäck
Petra Fischbäck
Petra Fischbäck  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:06
English to German
+ ...
Sep 20, 2009

Hello everyone,

I'd like to know whether you know of any websites that post translation jobs which you can accept without quoting, once you have registered.

These are usually small jobs of maybe 20 to 1,000 words. And working like that fits in very well with my current life situation. I am a translator, but have begun to study history, so it's difficult for me to accept any large jobs at the moment. But these little jobs are just perfect.

I remember comple
... See more
Hello everyone,

I'd like to know whether you know of any websites that post translation jobs which you can accept without quoting, once you have registered.

These are usually small jobs of maybe 20 to 1,000 words. And working like that fits in very well with my current life situation. I am a translator, but have begun to study history, so it's difficult for me to accept any large jobs at the moment. But these little jobs are just perfect.

I remember completing one of those 20-word-jobs while my sister was getting her children ready for a walk.

The problem is just that I have found only one website so far that pays ok. So I thought I'd ask whether you know any other websites like that.

I hope it's ok to ask that question.

Best wishes,

Petra
Collapse

Didier Caizergues
Didier Caizergues
English to French
+ ...
There's (supposedly)... Sep 20, 2009

... LanguageWire; I was in contact with them last Spring, and they were about to launch an instant translation platform accessible from a Web browser. Clients would submit their text to translate, and a real live translator would take charge, translate and send it back to the client. Billing and invoicing would be conducted directly by LanguageWire, and the translation was charged at a fixed-rate (20 euros, if memory serves).