strategic dilemma: is it best to join an agency or to market to clients directly?
Thread poster: Carolingua
Carolingua
Carolingua  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:03
Spanish to English
+ ...
Aug 7, 2003

Does anyone out there have some advice on how to take my translations business to the next level...?

I have been doing translations for about two years now, and at first was happy with having just my two or three regular clients, whom I acquired strictly through word of mouth. Now that all of these are experiencing a seasonal and/or economic slump, I would like to market myself to other potential clients, possibly outside my area of expertise (which is market research--and I'm rea
... See more
Does anyone out there have some advice on how to take my translations business to the next level...?

I have been doing translations for about two years now, and at first was happy with having just my two or three regular clients, whom I acquired strictly through word of mouth. Now that all of these are experiencing a seasonal and/or economic slump, I would like to market myself to other potential clients, possibly outside my area of expertise (which is market research--and I'm realizing this may be too small of a niche).

I am faced with the decision of either signing up with an agency or figure out an effective way to market directly to potential clients. I thought about joining an agency but don't know of any. Alternatively, or at the same time, I would like to be considered when companies have open bidding for translation projects (I love writing proposals and usually do well in this scenario), but don't know how to go about getting myself on their list of potential subcontractors.