Alex Boladeras
Alex Boladeras  Identity Verified
Indonesia
Local time: 08:46
English to Spanish
+ ...
Mar 8, 2006

Hi!

I'm new to Déjà Vu. For the moment I 'm using the trial version but (almost certainly) will buy the full version when the former expires. I normally work in two language pairs, namely: Spanish English and English Spanish, so I think I'll need two translation memories and two translation databases. My question is: can I build the SPA-ENG Terminology Database and Memory and "reverse it" at the touch of a key so that I have the ENG-SPA equivalents without having to work double? I
... See more
Hi!

I'm new to Déjà Vu. For the moment I 'm using the trial version but (almost certainly) will buy the full version when the former expires. I normally work in two language pairs, namely: Spanish English and English Spanish, so I think I'll need two translation memories and two translation databases. My question is: can I build the SPA-ENG Terminology Database and Memory and "reverse it" at the touch of a key so that I have the ENG-SPA equivalents without having to work double? I hope I expressed myself clearly! This is the classic type of questions that are more easily asked in person!

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Alex
Collapse

Yolanda Broad
Yolanda Broad  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 20:46
Member (2000)
French to English
+ ...

"Big Mama" concept Mar 10, 2006

I'm answering because no one else appears to be leaping in with some real expertise. So you'll have to make do with my own partial knowledge. However, there is one principle I can state with authority: one MDB and one TB per language pair.

Since one specifies clients and subjects when one creates a project, there should be enough delimitations in your basic TM and TB to accomodate all the data that gets entered. And this means everything will be available for any future work you
... See more