New to Deja Vu: some questions
Thread poster: Tineke Blokzijl - Haar
Tineke Blokzijl - Haar
Tineke Blokzijl - Haar  Identity Verified
Local time: 21:30
English to Dutch
Oct 28, 2005

Hello everyone,

I have recently downloaded the trail version of DVX (in my case DVX workgroup - why I don't know, I'm just a single freelance translator), and have some questions.

What is the difference between DVX workgroup and DVX professional? Which one would be most appropriate for a single freelance translator?

Is DVX completely compatible with TRADOS? Is it possible to use Trados-projects and Trados TM's in Deja Vu? (DVX will be my f
... See more
Hello everyone,

I have recently downloaded the trail version of DVX (in my case DVX workgroup - why I don't know, I'm just a single freelance translator), and have some questions.

What is the difference between DVX workgroup and DVX professional? Which one would be most appropriate for a single freelance translator?

Is DVX completely compatible with TRADOS? Is it possible to use Trados-projects and Trados TM's in Deja Vu? (DVX will be my first CAT tool, so I have no experience whatsoever with any CAT tool, I just see Trados passing my screen very often)

Are there people here that use several CAT Tools? If yes, what are the main pro's of DVX compared to the other tools? For me the main pro is that source and target file are next to each other. I also downloaded a trial version of Trados, but I really don't like it that the source and target text are in the same document.

Do you use DVX for all your translation work (or at least for all customers that you regularly get assignments from)?

Well that's it for now. I hope you can help me out here.

Kind regards,

Tineke Blokzijl- Haar
Collapse

Victor Dewsbery
Victor Dewsbery  Identity Verified
Germany
German to English
+ ...
Welcome to DVX - some answers Oct 28, 2005

Tineke Blokzijl - Haar wrote: