Rookie question re: Concordance Search (Ctrl S) in Deja Vu X3
Thread poster: Simon Geoghegan
Simon Geoghegan
Simon Geoghegan  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:33
Russian to English
Mar 28, 2016

I've been using DVX3 for a little while and am generally enjoying its user friendliness. However, I am having problems getting the best out of the Ctrl S function.

I am a Ru-En translator and there are two main problems I encounter.

1. Ctrl S in Deja Vu seems to have problems searching for entries of more than word. Whenever I enter a set phrase that I'm sure I've translated previously and is in the memory - DVX3 searches for only one of the words.

Is th
... See more
I've been using DVX3 for a little while and am generally enjoying its user friendliness. However, I am having problems getting the best out of the Ctrl S function.

I am a Ru-En translator and there are two main problems I encounter.

1. Ctrl S in Deja Vu seems to have problems searching for entries of more than word. Whenever I enter a set phrase that I'm sure I've translated previously and is in the memory - DVX3 searches for only one of the words.

Is there a concordance search setting that I need to change/adjust? Does anyone know where it is..?

2. The concordance search function seems to have problems discounting Russian case endings or conjugations when searching through the TM. Unless the word in the TM is in exactly the same case/conjugation as the one I enter - Ctrl S doesn't seem to come up with any suggestions or very limited suggestions.

The concordance search on Trados and Wordfast that I have used previously have produced much more satisfactory outcomes, which makes me think that there must be a problem with my settings.

Any help with the above would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks in advance for any advice.
Collapse

Selcuk Akyuz
Selcuk Akyuz  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 16:33
English to Turkish
+ ...
ctrl+shift S Mar 28, 2016

Hi Simon,