Thread poster: chooi
chooi
chooi
Malaysia
Local time: 09:54
Chinese to English
+ ...
Mar 12, 2002

I would like some help and advice on translator accreditation, certification or any qualification.

I have only started doing translation for less than 1.5 years. Even though I have a BSc. (medical) and a Master degree in Commerce, I have no qualification in any linguistic field whatsoever.

What options do I have, in terms of accreditation, qualifications (Chinese/English), etc? I am looking for something that is more accessible to me, such as distance le
... See more
I would like some help and advice on translator accreditation, certification or any qualification.

I have only started doing translation for less than 1.5 years. Even though I have a BSc. (medical) and a Master degree in Commerce, I have no qualification in any linguistic field whatsoever.

What options do I have, in terms of accreditation, qualifications (Chinese/English), etc? I am looking for something that is more accessible to me, such as distance learning, or accreditation from countries nearer to home (i.e. Malaysia) but widely recognised. (The accreditation from Malaysian bodies focussed mainly on Malay language).

Collapse

Yang JS (X)
Yang JS (X)
English to Chinese
+ ...
China now have this kind of program in progress developed by Mar 12, 2002

Beijing Foreign Language Studies University

http://www.bfsu.edu.cn/chinese/zhfw/kspx/fyzsks/zxjj.htm(Chinese version)

You may find what you are searching for.

Kevin Yang
Kevin Yang  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:54
Member (2003)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Have you visited ATA's website? Mar 20, 2002

Hello, chooi

Sorry, it took me so long to get to you. I was distracted by the other folders.

I think you should visit the website of American Translators Association (ATA). The URL is as follows:

http://www.atanet.org/membro.htm

From this site you can find lots of information and get your question answered.

Good lu
... See more
Hello, chooi